Where: University of Ottawa
Johnson Hall in the Alex Trebek Alumni Building
157 Séraphin-Marion Private (Building Number 157 on the Map)

When: June 15th to 17th 2017

There is a $75 (+HST) fee associated with this event. However, no participants will be turned away due to lack of funds. Registrations fees can be paid through the uOttawa General Store here.
We encourage all participants to register immediately for this event. Click this link to register.
Download the Poster here (LINK)
Download the Media Packet here (LINK)

conference archives


View the Program here (LINK)
View Presenter Bios & Presentation Abstracts here (LINK)

day one

Registration and Coffee - 8:00 - 11:00 (Alex Trebek Alumni Hall)
  • 9:00 - 9:45 - Coffee & Conversation with Hon. Mélanie Joly, Minister of Canadian Heritage
  • 10:00 - 10:30 - Opening Ceremony with Fred McGregor, the Traditional Knowledge Keeper for the Faculty of Education (University of Ottawa), and Welcome remarks by Ms. Rachel Blaney, Member of Parliament for North Island Powell River
  • 10:30 - 11:00 - Welcome with President and Vice-Chancellor Jacques Frémont (University of Ottawa), Dean Kevin Kee (University of Ottawa - Faculty of Arts), and the Project Team
First Session - 11:00 - 12:15
  • Panel: Broadcasting the laws of the lands and waters (Alex Trebek Alumni Hall, Room 116with Mike Metatawabin (Wawatay Communications Society), Banchi Hanuse (Nuxalk Radio) and Monique Manatch (Rapid Lake Radio)
Lunch - 12:15 - 1:15
  • Sandwich lunch provided in Alex Trebek Alumni Hall
Concurrent Sessions - 1:15 - 2:30
  • Panel: Native Licensed Broadcasters (Alex Trebek Alumni Hall, Room 116) with Carolyn King (CKRZ), Cory Whiteduck (CKWE), and Les Carpenter & Conner Coles (Native Communications Society [NCS] of the NWT)
  • Workshop: Listening to the Listeners – How audience research can inform practices and policies (Simard Hall, Room 224) with Gretchen King
  • Presentation and Slideshow: Regional Conversations (Hamelin Hall, Room 509with the Project Team
Pause - 2:30 - 2:45
Concurrent Sessions - 2:45 - 4:00
  • Panel: Evaluating Policy (Alex Trebek Alumni Hall, Room 116) with Monica Auer (Forum for Research and Policy in Communications [FRPC]), Dr. Aliaa Dakroury (Saint Paul University),  Dr. Geneviève Bonin (University of Ottawa), and Julia Szwarc (University of Ottawa)
  • Presentation: IsumaTV – Inuit filmmaking, community video, and bridging the digital divide in Nunavut (Simard Hall, Room 224) with Sam Cohn-Coussineau, and contributions by Zacharias Kunuk & Gabriela Gamez
  • Presentation: Decolonization? Hand the media back! A view from Pjilasi Mi'kma'ki (Hamelin Hall, Room 509) with Annie Clair, podcaster.
Pause - 4:00 - 4:15
Discussion - 4:15 - 5:00
  • Outcomes from the Regional Conversations (Alex Trebek Alumni Hall, Room 116) with the Project Team

day two

Registration and Coffee - 8:00 - 9:00 (Alex Trebek Alumni Hall)
Presentation - 9:00 - 9:45 (Alex Trebek Alumni Hall, Room 116)
  • Presentation - How to get your way with the CRTC, with Professor Andrew Cardozo (Carleton University), former CRTC Commissioner 1997-2003
Pause - 9:45 - 10:00
Concurrent Sessions - 10:00 - 11:30
  • Panel: International views on Indigenous media and policy (Alex Trebek Alumni Hall, Room 116) with Commissioner Adriana Labardini (Federal Telecommunications Institute - Mexico), Loris Taylor (Native Public Media - US), Professor Chen-Ling Hung (Commissioner of National Communications Commission – Taiwan), and John Ahni Schertow (Intercontinental Cry)
  • Round Table: Urban Inuit/Indigenous Radio: networking towards a more connected future (Simard Hall, Room 224) with Mark Watson (Concordia University), Donna Patrick (Carleton University), Kevin Tikivik (Nipivut - producer), David Murphy (Nipivut - producer), Tina Pisuktie (Southern Quebec Urban Inuit Association) and Kowesa Etitiq (Tungasuvvingat Inuit).
  • Workshop: OCAP® system, obtaining, and preserving data (Hamelin Hall, Room 509) with the University of Ottawa Library and the First Nations Information Governance Centre (FNIGC)
Pause - 11:30 - 11:45
Keynote Address (in French) - 11:45 - 12:30
  • The right to self-determination & Indigenous media policy (Alex Trebek Alumni Hall, Room 116) with MP Romeo Saganash (Abitibi-Baie James-Nunavik- Eeyou)

    • Simultaneous Translation will be provided in English through headphones.
Lunch - 12:30 - 1:30
  • Buffet 'Indian Taco' lunch from Garden River Catering providedin Alex Trebek Alumni Hall. A meat and vegan chili option is included, as well as fry-bread, a fresh salad, and wild rice pudding dessert.
Discussion - 1:30 - 2:15
  • Researching Indigenous Media Practices and Policying in Canada - Challenges and Futures (Alex Trebek Alumni Hall, Room 116) in conversation with Dr. Lorna Roth (Concordia University) and the Project Team
Pause - 2:15 - 2:30
Concurrent Sessions - 2:30 - 3:45
  • Panel: Breaking Barriers in Campus-Community Radio (Alex Trebek Alumni Hall, Room 116) Dan & Mary Lou Smoke (Smoke Signals [CHRW]), Mark Watson, David Murphy, & Kevin Tikivik (Nipivut [CKUT]), Zoe Ludski (Tla’Amin Word of the Day [CJMP])
  • Workshop: I'm Participating in a CRTC Proceeding— Now What? (Simard Hall, Room 224) with Cynthia Khoo (Open Media and CMAC)
  • Presentation andSlideshow: Regional Conversations (Hamelin Hall, Room 509) with the Project Team
Pause - 3:45 - 4:00
Forum - 4:00 - 5:00
  • CRTC Process (Alex Trebek Alumni Hall, Room 116) with the Project Team

day three

Registration and Coffee - 9:00 - 9:30 (Alex Trebek Alumni Hall)
Concurrent Sessions - 9:30 - 10:45
  • Round Table: Intervening for Policy and Regulatory Supports for Indigenous Communications Infrastructure (Alex Trebek Alumni Hall, Room 116) with Tim Whiteduck, Penny Carpenter, Dr. Heather Hudson, & Dr. Rob McMahon (First Mile Connectivity Consortium)
  • Panel: Radio & Community Development (Simard Hall, Room 224) with Jana Wilbricht (University of Michigan), Rob Lovelace (Queen's University), and Melissa Begay (Native Public Media)
  • Slideshow and Presentation: Regional Conversations (Hamelin Hall, Room 509) with the Project Team
Pause - 10:45 - 11:00
Concurrent Sessions - 11:00 - 12:15
  • Panel: Reforming the CRTC? Options for Decolonization, Reconcili-action and Centering Sovereignty in Policy­Making (Alex Trebek Alumni Hall, Room 116) with Kristiana Clemens & Dana Wesley (Community Media Advocacy Centre [CMAC]), Claudine Vanevery-Albert (CKRZ), and John Gagnon (Wawatay Communications Society)
  • Discussion: Suicide prevention & reporting in journalism policy (Simard Hall, Room 224), with Karen Kabloona (Government of Nunavut), Al MacKay (FRPC), Mike Metatawabin (Wawatay Communications Society), and Geneviève Bonin (University of Ottawa)
  • Slideshow and Presentation: Regional Conversations slideshow (Hamelin Hall, Room 509) with the Project Team
Lunch - 12:15 - 1:15
  • Sandwiches providedin Alex Trebek Alumni Hall
Forum - 1:15 - 2:15
  • CRTC Policy (Alex Trebek Alumni Hall, Room 116) with the Project Team
Pause - 2:15 - 2:30
Keynote Address (English) - 2:30 - 3:15
  • iPhones, Bush Tea & Dibajimowinan - Reflections on the Intersection Between Indigenous Knowledge, Technology & Storytelling (Alex Trebek Alumni Hall, Room 116) with Ryan McMahon (Makoons Media Group)
Pause - 3:15 - 3:30
Closing - 3:30 - 4:00
  • In Alex Trebek Alumni Hall, Room 116 with Dan & Mary Lou Smoke


Complete information about reserved accommodations for the National Conference in Ottawa can be found on the accommodation page. Rooms have been reserved at a discounted rate for conference attendees in two University of Ottawa residences and in Les Suites Hotel located 500 meters from campus

In preparation for The Future of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis Broadcasting national conference in Ottawa, we acknowledge these events are proposed to take place on the traditional unceded territory of the Algonquin Anishnaabeg people.